Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Candanchú – 23 April 2013

Three times I had tried to skin from the base (1574m) all the way to the highest lift of Candanchú (2256m), and three times I had failed; something needed to be done about it!!

Yesterday I checked the forecast for today and it looked great. Although the resort is closed (season ended 2 weeks ago) I know the snow coverage was still very good. And being familiar with the place, it’s one of these routes that I feel safe doing by myself. So I drove to Jaca last night, enjoyed some good tapas and raciones and slept in the van, right by the lifts. The weather didn’t seem so good last night: foggy and windy. More of the same at 7am today. I slept in and the clouds broke by half past eight. Very soon the sun worked on the snow but it still was fine pretty much all the way. Being bank holiday in Aragon today, I bumped into 3 or 4 other tourers. Very nice ski down the Tobazo just before 1pm under the eye of the beautiful Aspe.

Now I can tick it.

ASPE800

 

One comment on “Candanchú – 23 April 2013

  1. txastimendiak
    April 29, 2013

    El gusto por intentarlo también es lo que nos hace estar ilusionados con los proyectos,…aunque el resultado no sea el que esperamos. Bien hecho!…y vuelve a intentarlo. Un abrazo!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2013 by in Spring and tagged , , , , , .
