Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Plomb du Cantal (Cantal) – 26 March 2013

Those of you who’ve read (or watched) Patrick Süskind’s Perfume novel/film, might be familiar with the Plomb du Cantal: this 1855m extinct volcano in Auvergne’s Massif Central, is where the main character (Grenouille) hides to meditate during his journey from Paris to Grasse. Le Plomb du Cantal is one of the wettest places in France and the second highest summit of the Massif Central. Also the Le Lioran ski resort is found on its N/NE sides. This area is some 50min drive from my parents house in Ytrac, a place where I’ve spent many a holiday as a kid and a teenager and where, lately, I’ve been going back to a few times for family gatherings. This Easter my sister, her husband, their two daughters and my mum were there, so I decided to join them and, for the first time ever, bring my skiing gear along as Le Lioran is enjoying its 2nd best season in the last 10 years in terms of snow.

And this is how today I went skinning up Le Lioran to -almost- the summit of the Plomb du Cantal. I just followed different pistes and then a little more, but I had to ski down just before I reached the summit because I was already late. With another great weather day predicted for tomorrow, I guess I’ll be hitting the area again.

monts du cantal txiki

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2013 by in Spring and tagged , , .
