Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

10th Saioa (Nafarroa) of the season! – 19 March 2013

The thing is I’ve probably missed at least as many, which says a lot about the great winter we are having (tomorrow -at noon roughly- we are entering spring). Of all the days I have missed, not being able to ski on last week’s Wednesday, Thursday and Friday has been very painful. There was great snow -specially on Friday- even at low altitudes. Unfortunately a bad cold made me stay in bed… and as I was seeing the Scots girl in Barcelona this past weekend (she’s working on a project in Amsterdam since late January) and I didn’t want to be bedridden for the occasion, I was a good boy and looked after myself.

But seeing the videos and photos of what I was missing really hurt!

So anyway, once the strong W winds and rain from yesterday abated, this morning I made the drive to Artesiaga and was very happy to find out that there is still enough snow to skin from the car… although barely on some bits. I guess tomorrow will be the last Saioa for a while (maybe until next winter) as a heat wave is predicted for Thursday and Friday.

penultimo_saioa_de_la_temporada

2 comments on “10th Saioa (Nafarroa) of the season! – 19 March 2013

  1. Josh
    March 30, 2013

    A heatwave would’ve been nice in país vasco where I was this past week! Season’s almost over down here in Granada😦

  2. Morroi
    April 2, 2013

    Hope you enjoyed Euskadi. To me the beauty of Spain is to see how different the different regions are not just in terms of geography, but also the food, the ways of doing things and living, working, etc… Re. the weather in Euskadi… oh well, we keep the good weather for when there are no tourists around!!! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2013 by in Winter and tagged , , .
