Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Mountain biking – 6 December 2012

After almost one month since my last ride… today I HAD to go. Being a long weekend here in Spain, the Scottish girl and I decided to stay at home and work rather than hit the snow, as every man and his dog will be there. Thus, this morning, seeing that the atrocious weather we’ve been coping with lately had come to a stop, I went for a  ride to the Arditurri mines, at the foot of the Peñas de Aya. There was so much water and mud everywhere that I stuck to the tar macadam. It was sunny but cold, so I decided to wear my Men’s R1® Pullover from Patagonia on top of my Men’s Merino 2 Lightweight Crew. It worked well and I only had to cover myself with my Spiuk Top Ten waterproof vest on the downhill bits to avoid wind chill.

34kms today for a total of 612kms.

IMG_3372

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2012 by in Autumn and tagged .
