Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Mountain biking – 27 October 2012

First real cold spell of the season for us: max temps in the single figures, lots of rain, strong winds and snow in the mountains (check the webcam from Vaqueira, in the Val d’Aran). Amazing when you think that only last Wednesday we enjoyed a full beach day, with plenty of people sunbathing and surfing without wetsuits!! Anyway, I decided I had to buy some winter cycling clothing seeing that from now on it’s only going to get worse. So I went to Forum and bought full leg cycling pants, winter gloves and a waterproof vest, all from Spiuk. I paid 132,62€, which added to the 18€ of the speedometer puts my cycling gear investment in the last 2 months up to 150,62€ (not counting repair and maintenance).

And then I went for a ride in my new clothes. Unfortunately it started raining as soon as I decided to go, so it wasn’t very pleasant. LOTS of mud everywhere and the rain getting heavier by the minute, so after my second fall I decided to stick to the safe paths and go back home. 15kms all in all for a total of 464kms.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2012 by in Autumn and tagged , , .
