Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Val d’Aran – 6 May 2012

What a horrible night: cold, not much room and the bloody hump in the middle of the mattress that didn’t let me find the right position. I ended up sleeping on the passenger seat in my sleeping bag and freezing. Full moon night and some magnificent views before going to bed last night, though. So, this morning I got up late and super stiff. There was not much visibility, with lots of clouds covering the Cap de Baqueira every now and then, so I decided to stick to a blue run in Beret –Ta Beret – that has snow from the bottom all the way up. I don’t know if it’s the lack of practice, the lack of sleep or the altitude, but I seem to be climbing the Everest, having to stop every 15 meters. Shame! Once I reach the ridge on top of the run I decide against following up to the top of the lift on my left and, seeing some clouds coming from the N side, I decide to ski down. It’s a smooth ride over wet corn; only the very first turns at the top are a bit sketchy due to the slushiness of the snow, but after that it gets much better. To make things even better the Scottish girl and Buffy are back from their walk and waiting for me at the bottom, and I even get a couple of photos of my last turns. Cool!!

We have a nice lunch down at Salardu and the afternoon is spent between walks and siestas, as no one slept well last night. I’ve just been back from taking Buffy out for a last wee, and we heard a couple of very angry and noisy wild boar not far from us. I guess we’ll sleep tight tonight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “Val d’Aran – 6 May 2012

  1. Pingback: Don’t dream it’s over – 13 May 2012 « Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2012 by in Spring and tagged , , , .
