Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Candanchú – 21 April 2012

Oh well… rain, rain and more rain!

This morning, upon arriving to Candanchú form Villanúa (where I parked for the night), I spoke to a couple of guys in the car park who -before 10h30- were already giving it up and they told me not to bother: “only at the very top the snow is worth skiing but the visibility up there is almost nil… and except for those top 100m, the snow is so full of water that it actually is dangerous.” Seeing this and that the rain was getting more persistent, I checked the old bar where I used to spend a lot of time while “on patrol” and found some familiar faces.

A 5 minute break in the rain let me took some photos of the mighty Tubo de la Zapatilla and some not-so-fresh tracks that some lucky ones drew a couple of days ago… before driving home. The drive was actually gorgeous… until a big squall hit me and I had to drive the last 1h30 under the rain!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2012 by in Spring and tagged , , .
