Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Personal log of a novice backcountry skier in his backyard

Candanchú – 20 April 2012

All the bad weather and snow we didn’t get in January and March (February had a very cold spell of about 2 or 3 weeks) is happening in April. Since my last trip  it’s been raining and snowing nonstop. Not big quantities but enough to keep the snowpack interesting. There’s been a couple of windows of fair weather here and there, but hardly more than one full day. Finally I decided that I’ve had enough and after a work related trip to NW Spain last weekend, I decided to hit the slopes again this weekend. Because the weather forecast is not good at all, I decided to keep myself within the boundaries of a resort… actually one of the very few resort that’s still open this late in the season (it shuts down on Monday 23): Candanchú. If you’ve read the About section of this blog you know that it is a very special resort for me, and the fact is that I hadn’t been back since August ’95!! Talk about a trip back in time!

So today I left Donosti right after lunch and drove to Candanchú. I got to the resort at 17h30 and the lifts were shut down. I had a look at the Army barracks where I was stationed for the whole winter of 1994-95 right at the back of the parking; so many memories! There was no one anywhere: empty parking, empty streets, nothing… full ghost town!! Seeing that the visibility and the weather seemed to hold on, I decided to climb up one of the hills: el Tobazo (2020m). I mainly followed a red slope and it went fine. Visibility was good, the snow a bit heavy but I kept myself on the groomed bit and although it was raining a little bit, I was making good progress. I took me a bit less than 1 hour to reach the top of the hill (roughly 500m up from where I had started). Just when I did a big front hit from the North and suddenly the visibility was extremely low. I could barely see 3 meters ahead of me through the fog and the hail. So I didn’t really get to enjoy the downhill bit.

Back at the van I decided to drive to Jaca for a place to eat. As I was driving down, looking back up I could see that the front was stuck up at the resort but plenty of mountains further south were getting plenty of sun… We’ll see about it tomorrow!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “Candanchú – 20 April 2012

  1. Pingback: Candanchú – 28 December 2012 « Backcountry Skiing in the Pyrenees

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by in Spring and tagged , , , , , , .
